Ribble Valley Borough Council's website uses cookies to store information on your computer. We use cookies to improve our website and some cookies are essential for parts of the website to work. If you continue to browse ribblevalley.gov.uk we'll assume that you agree to receive cookies used by this site. To find out more about the cookies we use see our cookie notice.

Ribble Valley Borough Council

Conservation Area Boundaries

Conservation Area Boundaries


In 2005 the Borough Council commissioned consultants to appraise and provide management guidance for all of the Ribble Valley's existing conservation areas (16), and to consider five areas for new conservation area designation.   Following the completion of this exercise, new conservation areas were designated at Hurst Green, Sabden,Worston and Longridge - Newtown and Longridge - St Lawrence's Church.   The old conservation areas at Chatburn, Chipping, Clitheroe, Gisburn, Grindleton, Ribchester, Sawley, Waddington, Whalley and Wiswell were extended (see Planning and Development Committee of 3rd April 2007).

To download each settlement's conservation area appraisal, management guidance and map, first select the settlement of interest.

The appraisal seeks to record and analyse the various features which give the conservation area its special architectural and historic interest.

The management guidance builds upon the issues and recommendations identified in the appraisal, and relates to specific weaknesses and threats to the conservation area special architectural and historic interest.

The maps show the old and subsequent conservation area boundaries and identify some of the features such as listed buildings, buildings of townscape merit, trees, open spaces and important views that make up a conservation areas architectural and historic interest.

Longridge Conservation Area was discussed at the meeting of the Planning and Development Committee held on 6th March 2008 at which five extensions were designated.  A further two extensions to Longridge Conservation Area were designated at Stonebridge Mill and Crumpax Farm on 22nd May 2008.

On 4th February 2010 a conservation area was designated for Kirk Mill at Chipping.  An extension to the Kirk Mill Conservation Area was designated on 7th April 2011.

Members resolved to authorise the Director of Development Services to consult owners and occupiers of affected properties, and the relevant Parish Councils, in regard to progression with the Article 4 Directions recommended by The Conservation Studio consultants in their appraisal of the Borough's conservation areas.

Link to Planning and Development Committee Reports 

1. Bolton-by-Bowland
2. Chatburn
3. Chipping
4. Clitheroe
5. Downham
6. Gisburn
7. Grindleton
8. Hurst Green
9. Longridge (Appraisal)
9a Longridge (current)
10. St Lawrence
11. Newtown
12. Newton
13. Pendleton
14. Ribchester
15. Sabden
16. Sawley
17. Slaidburn
18. Waddington
19. Whalley
20. Wiswell
21. Worston
22. Kirk Mill, Chipping (Proposal)
22a Kirk Mill, Chipping (current)