Ribble Valley Borough Council's website uses cookies to store information on your computer. We use cookies to improve our website and some cookies are essential for parts of the website to work. If you continue to browse ribblevalley.gov.uk we'll assume that you agree to receive cookies used by this site. To find out more about the cookies we use see our cookie notice.

Ribble Valley Borough Council

Local Elections and Referendum 2011

Referendum, Borough and Parish Election Results 2011

 Ribble Valley went to the polls on Thursday, May 5, in local elections and a referendum on voting reform.

Elections were held in 21 out of the borough's 24 wards, with candidates in three wards: Gisburn and Rimington, Mellor and Ribchester, returned uncontested.

The elections attracted a 44.9 per cent turnout and resulted in the election of 33 Conservatives, six Liberal Democrats and one Independent.

As such, the Conservatives now have the highest number of seats on the council and are therefore the ruling group.

There were also elections in six parishes, namely Bolton-by-Bowland, Gisburn Forest and Sawley: Bolton-by-Bowland, Clitheroe: Edisford and Low Moor, Clitheroe: Primrose, Clitheroe: St Mary's, Clitheroe: Salthill, West Bradford.

As well as local elections, there was a referendum on the voting system used to elect MPs to the House of Commons.

The borough election votes will be counted after polls close on the evening of Thursday, May 5, with declarations throughout the early hours of Friday, May 6.

Votes for the parish elections will be counted on the morning of Friday, May 6, with declarations by late morning.

Ribble Valley's referendum votes will be counted on the afternoon of Friday, May 6, with a declaration expected in the early evening.


Borough Results
Parish Results
Electorate and Turnout Per Ward
Referendum on Voting Reform Count Totals

  1. Borough and Parish Elections 2011
  2. Bumper Local Elections For Ribble Valley
  3. Postal and Proxy Voting In Ribble Valley
  4. Local Elections and Referendum
  5. You are here: Referendum, Borough and Parish Election Results 2011