Minutes of Meeting of the Annual Council

Meeting Date: Tuesday, 11 May 2010 starting at 6.00pm

Present: Councillor B Jones (Chairman)

Councillors:

P Ainsworth J Rogerson J E Alcock C Ross D Berryman I Sayers G Scott D C Eccleston R J Elms R E Sherras D T Smith M Fielding G Geldard J S Sutcliffe J B Hill M E Sutcliffe S Hirst D Taylor M Thomas J Holgate S Hore R J Thompson A M Knox J Waddington C Punchard N C Walsh E M H Ranson J White L Rimmer A Yearing

M Robinson

In attendance: Chief Executive, HR Manager and Legal Services Manager.

9 APOLOGIES

Apologies for absence from the meeting were submitted on behalf of Councillors S Brunskill, R Croasdale, S Farnsworth, A Gridley, R Hargreaves, T Hill, B Hilton and K Hind.

10 ELECTION OF MAYOR

The Mayor invited nominations for the office of Mayor for the municipal year 2010/2011. Councillor J Holgate proposed and Councillor S Hirst seconded the motion that Councillor Lois Rimmer be elected to the office of Mayor for the municipal year 2010/2011.

RESOLVED: That Councillor Lois Rimmer be elected to the office of Mayor for the municipal year 2010/2011.

Councillor B Jones invested Councillor Lois Rimmer as Mayor with the ceremonial chain of office. Councillor Jones invested Gordon Rimmer as Consort.

The Mayor (Councillor L Rimmer) then took the chair and signed the declaration of acceptance of office. The Mayor (Councillor L Rimmer) presented Councillor B Jones and Mr H Jones with badges to commemorate their successful terms of office as Mayor and Consort. She spoke in appreciation of their excellent service during their year of office. Councillor Jones responded appropriately. The Mayor (Councillor L Rimmer) made a speech accepting the office of Mayor.

11 ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR

The Mayor invited nominations for the office of Deputy Mayor for the municipal year 2010/2011. Councillor D Smith proposed and Councillor J White seconded the motion that Councillor S Hore be elected to the office of Deputy Mayor for the municipal year 2010/2011.

RESOLVED: That Councillor S Hore be elected to the office of Deputy Mayor for the municipal year 2010/2011.

Councillor S Hore was invested as Deputy Mayor by the Mayor with the ceremonial chain of office. Grace Hore was invested as Deputy Mayoress by the Mayor. The Deputy Mayor then made a short acceptance speech,

12 PRAYERS

The Mayor then called upon her Chaplain, the Reverend Canon Atty, to ask God's blessing on the Council's deliberations in the coming year.

13 COMMITTEE ARRANGEMENTS 2010/2011

The Leader, Councillor E M H Ranson, proposed the recommendations outlined in the report regarding Committee arrangements for the municipal year 2010/2011 and related to the:

- number of Committees and their terms of reference;
- call in procedure;
- timetable of meetings;
- number of seats of each Committee;
- allocation of seats to Councillor Rogerson;
- representation of Parish Councils Liaison Committee:
- appointment of an emergency Committee; and
- appointment of a Standards Committee.

The proposal was seconded by Councillor R Sherras.

RESOLVED: That the Committee arrangements for 20010/2011 be as set out in section 4 of the report of the Chief Executive.

14 APPOINTMENT OF CHAIRMAN AND VICE CHAIRMAN 2010/2011

Councillor E M H Ranson proposed and Councillor R Sherras seconded that the appointment of Chairmen and Vice Chairmen of the Committees of the Council for the municipal year 2010/2011 be as follows;

Committee	Chairman	Vice Chairman
Community Services	R Thompson	I Sayers
Planning & Development	R Sherras	T Hill
Health & Housing	S Hirst	B Hilton
Personnel	D Smith	R Elms
Policy & Finance	E M H Ranson	R Sherras
Overview & Scrutiny	S Sutcliffe	M Thomas

Committee	Chairman	Vice Chairman
Licensing	J Alcock	J Holgate
Accounts & Audit	J B Hill	A Yearing

RESOLVED: That the Chairmen and Vice Chairmen be as set out in the list circulated at the

meeting.

15 APPOINTMENT OF REPRESENTATIVES ON OUTSIDE BODIES 2010/2011

Councillor EMH Ranson proposed and Councillor R Sherras seconded that the representatives on outside bodies be as set out in the list circulated at the meeting.

RESOLVED: That the representatives on outside bodies be as set out in the list circulated at the meeting – see Appendix A to these minutes.

The meeting closed at 6.52pm.

If you have any queries on these minutes please contact Marshal Scott (414400).

APPENDIX A

ORGANISATION	NUMBER OF VACANCIES	NOMINATIONS	PARENT COMMITTEE	NO. OF REPORTS
Clitheroe Royal Grammar School Trustees	3	Stuart Hirst Margaret Sutcliffe Stella Brunskill		0
Pendle Club, Clitheroe	2	Margaret Sutcliffe Joyce Holgate		0
Salesbury and Copster Green Commons Management Committee	3	Peter Ainsworth David Eccleston Stuart Hirst		0
Young People (Children's Trust)(LSP)	1	Stella Brunskill	Community Services	1
Hyndburn and Ribble Valley Council for Voluntary Services	1	Doreen Taylor	Community Services	1
Lancashire Waste Partnership	1	Ian Sayers	Community Services	1
Langho Football Club	1	Graham Geldard	Community Services	1
Longridge Partnership Action Group	1	Jim White	Community Services	1
Longridge Youth Council	2	Jim White Rose Croasdale	Community Services	1
NW Sound Archives	1	Simon Hore	Community Services	1
Ribble Valley Community Safety Partnership (LSP)	1	Jan Alcock	Community Services	1
Ribble Valley Sports & Recreation (Roefield Leisure Centre)	2	Simon Farnsworth John Waddington	Community Services	1
Carer's Link	1	Joyce Holgate	Health & Housing	1

ORGANISATION	NUMBER OF VACANCIES	NOMINATIONS	PARENT COMMITTEE	NO. OF REPORTS
Castle Cement Liaison Committee	5	Richard Sherras Jan Alcock Simon Farnsworth Ian Sayers Stephen Sutcliffe	Health & Housing	2
Environment Theme group (LSP)	1	lan Sayers	Health & Housing	1
Health Improvement Theme group (LSP)	1	Bridget Hilton	Health & Housing	1
LCC Adult Social Care and Health Overview & Scrutiny Committee	1	Bridget Hilton	Health & Housing	1
Oral Health – East Lancashire PCT	2	Bridget Hilton Doreen Taylor	Health & Housing	1
Ribble Valley Homes	4	Robert Thompson Peter Ainsworth Allan Knox Margaret Sutcliffe	Health & Housing	1
Tarmac Liaison Committee	4	Chris Punchard Michael Fielding Beverley Jones Ruth Hargreaves	Health & Housing	2
NW Employer's Organisation	1 + 1 substitute	David Smith Rosemary Elms	Personnel	2
Groundwork Pennine Lancashire Trust	1	Terry Hill	Planning & Development	1
Environment Agency Liaison Committee	2	Richard Sherras Ian Sayers	Planning & Development	1
Forest of Bowland (Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty) Advisory Committee	1	Rosemary Elms	Planning & Development	1
Longridge Social Enterprise Company Limited	1	Ken Hind	Planning & Development	1
Ribble Valley Community Transport	1	lan Sayers	Planning & Development	1

ORGANISATION	NUMBER OF VACANCIES	NOMINATIONS	PARENT COMMITTEE	NO. OF REPORTS
Citizen's Advice Bureau	3	Lois Rimmer Noel Walsh Beverley Jones	Policy & Finance	1
East Lancashire e- Government Partnership – Joint Committee	2	David Eccleston Allan Knox	Policy & Finance	1
Economy Theme group (LSP)	1	Richard Sherras	Policy & Finance	1
LGAConsultative Committee	2	Michael Ranson Allan Knox	Policy & Finance	1
Local Government Association Rural Commission	2	Simon Hore Ian Sayers	Policy & Finance	1
NW Regional Assembly	2	Michael Ranson Richard Sherras	Policy & Finance	1
Older People (LSP)	1	Doreen Talyor	Policy & Finance	1
People & Communities (LSP	1	Stella Brunskill	Policy & Finance	1
Pennine Lancashire Development Company Governing Body	1	Michael Ranson	Policy & Finance	1
PLACE	1	Michael Ranson Subs – Richard Sherras Stuart Hirst Robert Thompson D Eccleston	Policy & Finance	1
Ribble Valley Strategic Partnership Board	2	Michael Ranson Ian Sayers	Policy & Finance	1
Rural Services Network	1	Richard Sherras	Policy & Finance	1