# **Minutes of Meeting of the Annual Council**

Meeting Date: Tuesday, 17 May 2011 starting at 6.00pm

Present: Councillor L Rimmer (Chairman)

Councillors:

P Ainsworth R Moores J E Alcock R Newmark E M H Ranson R Bennett S Bibby M Robinson J Rogerson S Brunskill S Carefoot C Ross P Dowson I Savers G Scott R J Elms T Hill R E Sherras B Hilton D T Smith K Hind R Swarbrick S Hirst D Taylor J Holgate M Thomas S Hore R J Thompson K Horkin N C Walsh A M Knox J White S Knox A Yearing

G Mirfin

In attendance: Chief Executive, Head of HR and Head of Legal and Democratic Services.

#### 1 APOLOGIES

Apologies for absence from the meeting were submitted on behalf of Councillors C Bartrop, D Berryman and R Hargreaves.

#### 2 ELECTION OF MAYOR

The Mayor invited nominations for the office of Mayor for the municipal year 2011/2012. Councillor D Smith proposed and Councillor J White seconded the motion that Councillor Simon Hore be elected to the office of Mayor for the municipal year 2011/2012.

RESOLVED: That Councillor Simon Hore be elected to the office of Mayor for the municipal year 2011/2012.

Councillor L Rimmer invested Councillor Simon Hore as Mayor with the ceremonial chain of office. Councillor Rimmer invested Grace Hore as Mayoress.

The Mayor (Councillor S Hore) then took the chair and signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office. The Mayor (Councillor S Hore) presented Councillor L Rimmer and Mr G Rimmer with badges to commemorate their successful terms of office as Mayor and Consort. He spoke in appreciation of their excellent service during their year of office. The Mayor (Councillor S Hore) made a speech accepting the office of Mayor.

#### 3 ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR

The Mayor invited nominations for the office of Deputy Mayor for the municipal year 2011/2012. Councillor K Hind proposed and Councillor J B Hill seconded the motion that Councillor I Sayers be elected to the office of Deputy Mayor for the municipal year 2011/2012.

RESOLVED: That Councillor I Sayers be elected to the office of Deputy Mayor for the municipal year 2011/2012.

Councillor I Sayers was invested as Deputy Mayor by the Mayor with the ceremonial chain of office. Jean Hayes was invested as Deputy Mayoress by the Mayor. The Deputy Mayor then made a short acceptance speech.

#### 4 PRAYERS

The Mayor then called upon his Chaplain, the Reverend Father J Scott, to ask God's blessing on the Council's deliberations in the coming year.

### 5 COMMITTEE ARRANGEMENTS 2011/2012

The Leader, Councillor E M H Ranson, proposed the recommendations outlined in the report regarding Committee arrangements for the municipal year 2011/2012 and related to the:

- number of Committees and their terms of reference;
- call in procedure;
- timetable of meetings;
- number of seats of each Committee;
- allocation of seats to Councillor Rogerson;
- representation of Parish Councils Liaison Committee;
- · appointment of an emergency Committee; and
- appointment of a Standards Committee.

The proposal was seconded by Councillor S Hirst.

RESOLVED: That the Committee arrangements for 2011/2012 as set out in section 4 of the report of the Chief Executive, be approved with the following amendments:

- that the responsibility for economic development and regeneration be transferred from the Terms of Reference for Planning and Development Committee to Policy and Finance Committee;
- 2) that the meeting of Overview and Scrutiny Committee scheduled for 20 September 2011 be brought forward to 25 August 2011; and
- 3) that the representation on Parish Councils' Liaison Committee be changed to 11 Conservatives and 2 Liberal Democrats.

### 6 APPOINTMENT OF CHAIRMAN AND VICE CHAIRMAN 2011/2012

Councillor E M H Ranson proposed and Councillor S Hirst seconded that the appointment of Chairmen and Vice Chairmen of the Committees of the Council for the municipal year 2011/2012 be as follows;

Committee	Chairman	Vice Chairman
Community Services	R Thompson	S Brunskill
Planning & Development	R Sherras	T Hill
Health & Housing	S Hirst	B Hilton
Personnel	D Smith	R Elms
Policy & Finance	E M H Ranson	S Hirst
Overview & Scrutiny	M Thomas	D Berryman
Licensing	J Alcock	J Holgate
Accounts & Audit	J B Hill	P Ainsworth

RESOLVED: That the Chairmen and Vice Chairmen be as set out in the list circulated at the meeting.

## 7 APPOINTMENT OF REPRESENTATIVES ON OUTSIDE BODIES 2011/2012

Councillor EMH Ranson proposed and Councillor S Hirst seconded that the representatives on outside bodies be as set out in the list circulated at the meeting.

RESOLVED: That the representatives on outside bodies be as set out in the list circulated at the meeting – see Appendix A to these minutes.

The meeting closed at 7.00pm.

If you have any queries on these minutes please contact Marshal Scott (414400).

# APPENDIX A

ORGANISATION	NUMBER OF VACANCIES	NOMINATIONS	PARENT COMMITTEE	NO. OF REPORTS
Clitheroe Royal Grammar School Trustees	3	Stuart Hirst Margaret Sutcliffe Stella Brunskill		0
Pendle Club, Clitheroe	2	1 Con 1 Lib Dem		0
Salesbury and Copster Green Commons Management Committee	3	Peter Ainsworth Susan Bibby Stuart Hirst		0
Young People (Children's Trust)(LSP)	1	Stella Brunskill	Community Services	1
Hyndburn and Ribble Valley Council for Voluntary Services	1	Doreen Taylor	Community Services	1
Lancashire Waste Partnership	1	Ian Sayers	Community Services	1
Langho Football Club	1	Conservative	Community Services	1
Longridge Partnership Action Group	1	Jim White	Community Services	1
Longridge Youth Council	2	Jim White Stuart Carefoot	Community Services	1
NW Sound Archives	1	Simon Hore	Community Services	1
Ribble Valley Community Safety Partnership (LSP)	1	Jan Alcock	Community Services	1
Ribble Valley Sports & Recreation (Roefield Leisure Centre)	2	Stella Brunskill Robert Thompson	Community Services	1
Carer's Link	1	Joyce Holgate	Health & Housing	1

ORGANISATION	NUMBER OF VACANCIES	NOMINATIONS	PARENT COMMITTEE	NO. OF REPORTS
Castle Cement Liaison Committee	5	Richard Sherras Jan Alcock Ruth Moores Ian Sayers 1 Lib Dem	Health & Housing	2
Environment Theme group (LSP)	1	Ian Sayers	Health & Housing	1
Health Improvement Theme group (LSP)	1	Bridget Hilton	Health & Housing	1
LCC Adult Social Care and Health Overview & Scrutiny Committee	1	Bridget Hilton	Health & Housing	1
Oral Health – East Lancashire PCT	2	Bridget Hilton Doreen Taylor	Health & Housing	1
Ribble Valley Homes	4	3 Conservative 1 Liberal Democrat	Health & Housing	1
Tarmac Liaison Committee	4	3 Conservative 1 Liberal Democrat	Health & Housing	2
NW Employer's Organisation	1 + 1 substitute	David Smith Rosemary Elms	Personnel	2
Groundwork Pennine Lancashire Trust	1	Terry Hill	Planning & Development	1
Environment Agency Liaison Committee	2	Richard Sherras Ian Sayers	Planning & Development	1
Forest of Bowland (Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty) Advisory Committee	1	Rosemary Elms	Planning & Development	1
Longridge Social Enterprise Company Limited	1	Ken Hind	Planning & Development	1
Ribble Valley Community Transport	1	lan Sayers	Planning & Development	1
Citizen's Advice Bureau	3	Lois Rimmer Noel Walsh 1 Liberal Democrat	Policy & Finance	1

ORGANISATION	NUMBER OF VACANCIES	NOMINATIONS	PARENT COMMITTEE	NO. OF REPORTS
Economy Theme group (LSP)	1	Richard Sherras	Policy & Finance	1
LGA Consultative Committee	2	Michael Ranson Allan Knox	Policy & Finance	1
Local Government Association Rural Commission	2	Ian Sayers 1 Conservative	Policy & Finance	1
Older People (LSP)	1	Doreen Talyor	Policy & Finance	1
People & Communities (LSP	1	Stella Brunskill	Policy & Finance	1
Pennine Lancashire Development Company Governing Body	1	Michael Ranson	Policy & Finance	1
PLACE	1	Michael Ranson Subs – Richard Sherras Stuart Hirst Robert Thompson	Policy & Finance	1
Ribble Valley Strategic Partnership Board	2	Michael Ranson Rupert Swarbrick	Policy & Finance	1
Rural Services Network	1	Richard Sherras	Policy & Finance	1