Minutes of Meeting of the Annual Council

Meeting Date: Tuesday, 15 May 2012 starting at 6pm

Present: Councillor S Hore (Chairman)

Councillors:

G Mirfin P Ainsworth R Moores J E Alcock E M H Ranson R Bennett L Rimmer S Bibby M Robinson I Brown J Rogerson S Brunskill C Ross S Carefoot I Savers P Dowson G Scott R J Elms R E Sherras J B Hill D T Smith T Hill B Hilton R Swarbrick D Taylor K Hind M Thomas S A Hirst R J Thompson J Holgate N C Walsh K Horkin A M Knox J White A Yearing S Knox

In attendance: Chief Executive, Head of HR and Head of Legal and Democratic Services.

1 APOLOGIES

Apologies for absence from the meeting were submitted on behalf of Councillors R Hargreaves and R Newmark.

2 ELECTION OF MAYOR

The Mayor invited nominations for the Office of Mayor for the municipal year 2012/2013. Councillor K Hind proposed and Councillor J B Hill seconded the motion that Councillor Ian Sayers be elected to the Office of Mayor for the municipal year 2012/2013.

RESOLVED: That Councillor I Sayers be elected to the office of Mayor for the municipal year 2012/2013.

Councillor S Hore invested Councillor Ian Sayers as Mayor with the ceremonial chain of office. Councillor Hore invested Mrs Jean Hayes as Mayoress.

The Mayor (Councillor I Sayers) then took the chair and signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office. The Mayor (Councillor I Sayers) presented Councillor S Hore and Mrs G Hore with badges to commemorate their successful turn of office

as Mayor and Mayoress. He spoke in appreciation of the excellent service during their year of office. The Mayor (Councillor I Sayers) made a speech accepting the Office of Mayor.

3 ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR

The Mayor invited nominations for the Office of Deputy Mayor for the municipal year 2012/2013. Councillor J Holgate proposed and Councillor S Hirst seconded the motion that Councillor R Sherras be elected to the Office of Deputy Mayor for the municipal year 2012/2013.

RESOLVED: That Councillor R Sherras be elected to the Office of Deputy Mayor for the municipal year 2012/2013.

Councillor R Sherras was invested as Deputy Mayor by the Mayor with the ceremonial chain of office. Lynne Pate was invested as Deputy Mayoress by the Mayor. The Deputy Mayor then made a short acceptance speech.

4 PRAYERS

The Mayor then called upon his Chaplain, the Reverend A Froud, to ask God's blessing on the Council's deliberations in the coming year.

5 COMMITTEE ARRANGEMENTS 2012/2013

The Leader, Councillor E M H Ranson, proposed the recommendations outlined in the report regarding Committee arrangements for the municipal year 2012/2013 and related to the:

- number of Committee and their terms of reference;
- call in procedure;
- timetable of meetings;
- number of seats of each Committee;
- allocation of seats to Councillor Rogerson:
- representation of Parish Councils' Liaison Committee;
- appointment of an Emergency Committee; and
- appointment of a Standards Committee.

The proposal was seconded by Councillor S Hirst.

RESOLVED: That the Committee arrangements for 2012/2013 as set out in section 4 of the report of the Chief Executive be approved.

6 APPOINTMENT OF CHAIRMAN AND VICE CHAIRMAN 2012/2013

Councillor E M H Ranson proposed and Councillor S Hirst seconded that the appointment of Chairman and Vice Chairman of the Committees of the Council for the municipal year 2012/2013 be as follows:

Committee	Chairman	Vice Chairman
Community Services	R Thompson	S Hore
Planning & Development	R Sherras	T Hill
Health & Housing	S Hirst	B Hilton
Personnel	R Elms	D Taylor
Policy & Finance	E M H Ranson	S Hirst
Licensing	J Alcock	J Holgate
Accounts & Audit	J B Hill	M Thomas

RESOLVED: That the Chairman and Vice Chairman be as set out in the list circulated at the meeting.

7 APPOINTMENT OF REPRESENTATIVES ON OUTSIDE BODIES 2012/2013

Councillor EMH Ranson proposed and Councillor S Hirst seconded that the representatives on outside bodies be as set out in the list circulated at the meeting.

RESOLVED: That the representatives on outside bodies be as set out in the list circulated at the meeting – see Appendix A to these minutes.

The meeting closed at 6.55pm.

If you have any queries on these minutes please contact Marshal Scott (414400).

APPENDIX A

RIBBLE VALLEY BOROUGH COUNCIL ANNUAL COUNCIL MEETING

Agenda Item No. 6

meeting date: TUESDAY 15 MAY 2012

title: REPRESENTATIVES ON OUTSIDE BODIES 2012/2013

submitted by:

principal author: CONSERVATIVE GROUP NOMINATIONS

ORGANISATION	NUMBER OF VACANCIES	NOMINATIONS	PARENT COMMITTEE	NO. OF REPORTS
Children's Trust	1	Stella Brunskill	Community Services	1
Lancashire Waste Partnership	1	lan Sayers	Community Services	1
Langho Football Club	1	Mike Thomas	Community Services	1
Longridge Social Enterprise Company Limited	1	Ken Hind	Community Services	1
NW Sound Archives	1	Simon Hore	Community Services	1
Ribble Valley Sport & Physical Activity Alliance (SPAA)	1	Jim White	Community Services	1
Ribble Valley Sports & Recreation (Roefield Leisure Centre)	2	Stella Brunskill Robert Thompson	Community Services	1
Salesbury and Copster Green Commons Management Committee	3	Peter Ainsworth Susan Bibby Stuart Hirst	Community Services	1
Carer's Link	1	Joyce Holgate	Health & Housing	1
Environment Agency Liaison Committee	2	Richard Sherras Richard Newmark	Health & Housing	1
Hanson Cement Liaison Committee	5	Richard Sherras Pam Dowson Ruth Moores Ian Brown Allan Knox	Health & Housing	2
Health & Wellbeing Board (LCC)	1	Bridget Hilton	Health & Housing	6

ORGANISATION	NUMBER OF VACANCIES	NOMINATIONS	PARENT COMMITTEE	NO. OF REPORTS
LCC Adult Social Care and Health Overview & Scrutiny Committee	1	Bridget Hilton	Health & Housing	1
NW Regional Older Peoples Champion Network	1	Bridget Hilton	Health & Housing	1
Oral Health – East Lancashire PCT	2	Bridget Hilton Doreen Taylor	Health & Housing	1
Pendle Club, Clitheroe	2	Pam Dowson Sue Knox	Health & Housing	1
Ribble Valley Homes	4	Peter Ainsworth Ged Mirfin Ian Brown Allan Knox	Health & Housing	1
Tarmac Liaison Committee	4	Michael Ranson Ian Sayers Ruth Moores Allan Knox	Health & Housing	2
NW Employer's Organisation	1 + 1 substitute	Rosemary Elms Doreen Taylor	Personnel	2
Groundwork Pennine Lancashire Trust	1	Terry Hill	Planning & Development	1
Forest of Bowland (Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty) Advisory Committee	1	Rosemary Elms	Planning & Development	1
Armed Forces Champion	1	Jim White	Policy & Finance	1
Clitheroe Royal Grammar School Trustees	3	Stuart Hirst Stella Brunskill Ian Brown	Policy & Finance	1
Citizen's Advice Bureau	3	Lois Rimmer Noel Walsh Mary Robinson	Policy & Finance	1
Hyndburn and Ribble Valley Council for Voluntary Services	1	Richard Newmark	Policy & Finance	1
LGA Consultative Committee	2	Michael Ranson Allan Knox	Policy & Finance	1
Local Government Association Rural Commission	2	Stuart Hirst Rupert Swarbrick	Policy & Finance	1
Police & Crime Panel	1	Michael Ranson	Policy & Finance	2

ORGANISATION	NUMBER OF VACANCIES	NOMINATIONS	PARENT COMMITTEE	NO. OF REPORTS
Ribble Valley Community Safety Partnership	1	Jan Alcock	Policy & Finance	1
Ribble Valley Community Transport	1	lan Sayers	Policy & Finance	1
Ribble Valley Strategic Partnership Board	2	Michael Ranson Rupert Swarbrick	Policy & Finance	1
Rural Services Network	1	Richard Sherras	Policy & Finance	1

NOMINATIONS FOR CHAIRMEN AND VICE CHAIRMEN TO COMMITTEES 2012/2013

COMMITTEE	CHAIRMAN	VICE CHAIRMAN
COMMUNITY SERVICES	Councillor Robert Thompson	Councillor Simon Hore
PLANNING & DEVELOPMENT	Councillor Richard Sherras	Councillor Terry Hill
LICENSING	Councillor Jan Alcock	Councillor Joyce Holgate
HEALTH & HOUSING	Councillor Stuart Hirst	Councillor Bridget Hilton
PERSONNEL	Councillor Rosie Elms	Councillor Doreen Taylor
POLICY & FINANCE	Councillor Michael Ranson	Councillor Stuart Hirst
ACCOUNTS AND AUDIT	Councillor John Hill	Councillor Mike Thomas