Minutes of Meeting of the Annual Council

Meeting Date: Tuesday, 13 May 2014 starting at 6pm Present: Councillor R Sherras (Chairman)

Councillors:

G Mirfin P Ainsworth R Moores J E Alcock R Newmark S Bibby EMH Ranson I Brown L Rimmer S Brunskill M Robinson S Carefoot J Rogerson P Dowson I Sayers R Hargreaves G Scott T Hill **RE Sherras** B Hilton DT Smith K Hind R Swarbrick SA Hirst D Taylor J Holgate M Thomas S Hore **RJ** Thompson K Horkin (arrived 6.15pm) J White AM Knox

In attendance: Chief Executive, Head of HR and Head of Legal and Democratic Services.

A Yearing

1 APOLOGIES

Apologies for absence from the meeting were submitted on behalf of Councillors R Elms, J Hill, C Ross, J Shervey and N Walsh.

2 ELECTION OF MAYOR

S Knox

The Mayor invited nominations for the Office of Mayor for the municipal year 2014/2015. Councillor S Hirst proposed and Councillor S Hore seconded the motion that Councillor Michael Ranson be elected to the Office of Mayor for the municipal year 2014/2015.

RESOLVED: That Councillor M Ranson be elected to the Office of Mayor for the municipal year 2014/2015.

Councillor R Sherras invested Councillor Michael Ranson as Mayor with the ceremonial chain of office. Councillor Sherras invested Mrs Janette Ranson as Mayoress.

The Mayor (Councillor M Ranson) then took the chair and signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office. The Mayor (Councillor M Ranson) presented Councillor R Sherras and Mrs L Pate with badges to commemorate their successful term of office as Mayor and Mayoress. He spoke in appreciation of the excellent service during their year of office. The Mayor (Councillor M Ranson) made a speech accepting the Office of Mayor.

3 ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR

The Mayor invited nominations for the Office of Deputy Mayor for the municipal year 2014/2015. Councillor T Hill proposed and Councillor R Thompson seconded the motion that Councillor B Hilton be elected to the Office of Deputy Mayor for the municipal year 2014/2015.

RESOLVED: That Councillor B Hilton be elected to the Office of Deputy Mayor for the municipal year 2014/2015.

Councillor B Hilton was invested as Deputy Mayor by the Mayor with the ceremonial chain of office. Mrs J Smith was invested as Deputy Mayoress by the Mayor. The Deputy Mayor then made a short acceptance speech.

4 PRAYERS

The Mayor then called upon the Reverend R Wood, to ask God's blessing on the Council's deliberations in the coming year.

5 COMMITTEE ARRANGEMENTS 2014/2015

The Leader, Councillor S Hirst, proposed the recommendations outlined in the report regarding Committee arrangements for the municipal year 2014/2015 and related to the:

- number of Committees and their terms of reference;
- call in procedure;
- timetable of meetings;
- number of seats of each Committee;
- allocation of seats to Councillor Rogerson;
- representation of Parish Councils' Liaison Committee; and
- appointment of an Emergency Committee.

The proposal was seconded by Councillor S Hore.

RESOLVED: That the Committee arrangements for 2014/2015 as set out in section 4 of the report of the Chief Executive be approved.

6 APPOINTMENT OF CHAIRMAN AND VICE CHAIRMAN 2014/2015

Councillor S Hirst proposed and Councillor S Hore seconded that the appointment of Chairman and Vice Chairman of the Committees of the Council for the municipal year 2014/2015 be as follows:

Committee	Chairman	Vice Chairman
Community Services	R Thompson	S Carefoot
Planning & Development	T Hill	S Bibby
Health & Housing	B Hilton	K Hind
Personnel	R Elms	D Taylor
Policy & Finance	S Hirst	S Hore
Licensing	J Alcock	J Holgate
Accounts & Audit	JB Hill	M Thomas

RESOLVED: That the Chairman and Vice Chairman be as set out in the list circulated at the meeting.

7 APPOINTMENT OF REPRESENTATIVES ON OUTSIDE BODIES 2014/2015

Councillor S Hirst proposed and Councillor S Hore seconded that the Representatives on Outside Bodies be as set out in the list circulated at the meeting.

RESOLVED: That the Representatives on Outside Bodies be as set out in the list circulated at the meeting – see Appendix 1 to these minutes.

The meeting closed at 6.45pm.

If you have any queries on these minutes please contact Marshal Scott (414400).

APPENDIX 1

RIBBLE VALLEY BOROUGH COUNCIL ANNUAL COUNCIL MEETING

Agenda Item No. 6

meeting date: TUESDAY 13 MAY 2014

title: REPRESENTATIVES ON OUTSIDE BODIES 2013/2014

submitted by:

principal author: CONSERVATIVE GROUP NOMINATIONS

ORGANISATION	NUMBER OF VACANCIES	NOMINATIONS	PARENT COMMITTEE	NO. OF REPORTS
Children's Trust	1	Stella Brunskill	Community Services	1
Lancashire Tourism Forum	1	Joyce Holgate	Community Services	1
Lancashire Waste Partnership	1	lan Sayers	Community Services	1
Langho Football Club	1	Mike Thomas	Community Services	1
Longridge Social Enterprise Company Limited	1	Ken Hind	Community Services	1
Ribble Valley Sport & Physical Activity Alliance (SPAA)	1	Jim White	Community Services	1
Ribble Valley Sports & Recreation (Roefield Leisure Centre)	2	Stella Brunskill Robert Thompson	Community Services	1
Salesbury and Copster Green Commons Management Committee	3	Peter Ainsworth Susan Bibby Stuart Hirst	Community Services	1
Carer's Link	1	Joyce Holgate	Health & Housing	1
Environment Agency Liaison Committee	2	Richard Sherras Ian Sayers	Health & Housing	1
Hanson Cement Liaison Committee	5	Richard Sherras Pam Dowson Ian Sayers Ian Brown Allan Knox	Health & Housing	2
Health & Wellbeing Board (LCC)	1	Bridget Hilton	Health & Housing	6
LCC Adult Social Care and Health Overview & Scrutiny Committee	1	Bridget Hilton	Health & Housing	1
NW Regional Older Peoples Champion Network	1	Susan Bibby	Health & Housing	1
Pendle Club, Clitheroe	2	Pam Dowson Sue Knox	Health & Housing	1

ORGANISATION	NUMBER OF VACANCIES	NOMINATIONS	PARENT COMMITTEE	NO. OF REPORTS
Ribble Valley Homes	4	Peter Ainsworth Ged Mirfin Ian Brown Allan Knox	Health & Housing	1
Tarmac Liaison Committee	4	Michael Ranson Ian Sayers Ruth Moores Allan Knox	Health & Housing	2
NW Employer's Organisation	1 + 1 substitute	Rosemary Elms Doreen Taylor	Personnel	2
Groundwork Pennine Lancashire Trust	1	Terry Hill	Planning & Development	1
Forest of Bowland (Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty) Advisory Committee	1	Rosemary Elms	Planning & Development	1
Armed Forces Champion	1	Jim White	Policy & Finance	1
Clitheroe Royal Grammar School Foundation Trust	3	Stuart Hirst Stella Brunskill Ian Brown	Policy & Finance	1
Citizen's Advice Bureau	3	Lois Rimmer Noel Walsh Mary Robinson	Policy & Finance	1
Hyndburn and Ribble Valley Council for Voluntary Services	1	Richard Newmark	Policy & Finance	1
LGA Consultative Committee	2	Stuart Hirst Allan Knox	Policy & Finance	1
Local Government Association Rural Commission	2	Michael Ranson Rupert Swarbrick	Policy & Finance	1
Police & Crime Panel	1	Stuart Hirst	Policy & Finance	2
Ribble Valley Community Safety Partnership	1	Kevin Horkin	Policy & Finance	1
Ribble Valley Community Transport	1	Ian Sayers	Policy & Finance	1