## Minutes of Meeting of the Annual Council

Meeting Date:	Tuesday, 19 May 2015 starting at 6pm		
Present:	M Ranson (Chairman)		
Councillors:			
P Ainsworth	S Hind		
J E Alcock	S A Hirst		
R Bennett	J Holgate		
S Bibby	S Hore (6.15pm)		
A Brown	A M Knox		
I Brown	S Knox		
S Brunskill	G Mirfin		
S Carefoot	R Newmark		
P Dobson	M Robinson		
P Dowson	J Rogerson		
P Dowson	J Rogerson		
P Elms	I Sayers		
R Elms	G Scott		
M French	R E Sherras		
G Geldard	D T Smith		
L Graves	R Swarbrick		
R Hargreaves	D Taylor		
T Hill	RJ Thompson		
B Hilton	N Walsh		
K Hind	J White		

In attendance: Chief Executive, Head of HR and Head of Legal and Democratic Services.

1 APOLOGIES

Apologies for absence from the meeting were submitted on behalf of Councillors S Atkinson and M Fenton.

2 ELECTION OF MAYOR

The Mayor invited nominations for the Office of Mayor for the municipal year 2015/2016. Councillor T Hill proposed and Councillor R Thompson seconded the motion that Councillor Bridget Hilton be elected to the Office of Mayor for the municipal year 2015/2016.

RESOLVED: That Councillor Bridget Hilton be elected to the Office of Mayor for the municipal year 2015/2016.

M Ranson invested Councillor Bridget Hilton as Mayor with the ceremonial chain of office. M Ranson invested Mrs Kathleen Hill as Mayoress.

The Mayor (Councillor B Hilton) then took the chair and signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office. The Mayor (Councillor B Hilton) presented M Ranson and Mrs J Ranson with badges to commemorate their successful term of office as Mayor and Mayoress. She spoke in appreciation of the excellent service during

their year of office. The Mayor (Councillor B Hilton) made a speech accepting the Office of Mayor.

3 ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR

The Mayor invited nominations for the Office of Deputy Mayor for the municipal year 2015/2016. Councillor D Smith proposed and Councillor S Hirst seconded the motion that Councillor S Carefoot be elected to the Office of Deputy Mayor for the municipal year 2015/2016.

RESOLVED: That Councillor S Carefoot be elected to the Office of Deputy Mayor for the municipal year 2015/2016.

Councillor S Carefoot was invested as Deputy Mayor by the Mayor with the ceremonial chain of office. Mrs M Carefoot was invested as Deputy Mayoress by the Mayor. The Deputy Mayor then made a short acceptance speech.

4 PRAYERS

The Mayor then called upon the Monsignor Chaloner, to ask God's blessing on the Council's deliberations in the coming year.

5 COMMITTEE ARRANGEMENTS 2015/2016

The Leader, Councillor S Hirst, proposed the recommendations outlined in the report regarding Committee arrangements for the municipal year 2015/2016 and related to the:

- number of Committees and their terms of reference;
- call in procedure;
- timetable of meetings;
- number of seats of each Committee;
- allocation of seats to Councillor Fenton;
- representation of Parish Councils' Liaison Committee;
- appointment of an Emergency Committee; and
- approval of the documents in the Council's Constitution.

The proposal was seconded by Councillor T Hill.

- RESOLVED: That the Committee arrangements for 2015/2016 as set out in section 4 of the report of the Chief Executive be approved.
- 6 APPOINTMENT OF CHAIRMAN AND VICE CHAIRMAN 2015/2016

Councillor S Hirst proposed and Councillor T Hill seconded that the appointment of Chairman and Vice Chairman of the Committees of the Council for the municipal year 2015/2016 be as follows:

Committee	Chairman	Vice Chairman
Community Services	R Thompson	S Carefoot
Planning & Development	S Bibby	I Sayers
Health & Housing	S Hore	S Brunskill
Personnel	R Elms	D Taylor

Committee	Chairman	Vice Chairman
Policy & Finance	S Hirst	T Hill
Licensing	J Alcock	J Holgate
Accounts & Audit	K Hind	l Brown

- RESOLVED: That the Chairman and Vice Chairman be as set out in the list circulated at the meeting.
- 7 APPOINTMENT OF REPRESENTATIVES ON OUTSIDE BODIES 2015/2016

Councillor S Hirst proposed and Councillor T Hill seconded that the Representatives on Outside Bodies be as set out in the list circulated at the meeting.

RESOLVED: That the Representatives on Outside Bodies be as set out in the list circulated at the meeting – see Appendix 1 to these minutes.

The meeting closed at 6.35pm.

If you have any queries on these minutes please contact Marshal Scott (414400).

**APPENDIX 1** 

## RIBBLE VALLEY BOROUGH COUNCIL ANNUAL COUNCIL MEETING

Agenda Item No. 6

meeting date:TUESDAY, 19 MAY 2015title:REPRESENTATIVES ON OUTSIDE BODIES 2015/2016submitted by:CONSERVATIVE GROUP NOMINATIONS

ORGANISATION	NUMBER OF VACANCIES	NOMINATIONS	PARENT COMMITTEE	NO. OF REPORTS
Children's Trust	1	Stella Brunskill	Community Services	1
Lancashire Tourism Forum	1	Joyce Holgate	Community Services	1
Lancashire Waste Partnership	1	lan Sayers	Community Services	1
Langho Football Club	1	Alison Brown	Community Services	1
Longridge Social Enterprise Company Limited	1	Ken Hind	Community Services	1
Ribble Valley Sport & Physical Activity Alliance (SPAA)	1	Jim White	Community Services	1
Ribble Valley Sports & Recreation (Roefield Leisure Centre)	2	Stella Brunskill Robert Thompson	Community Services	1

ORGANISATION	NUMBER OF VACANCIES	NOMINATIONS	PARENT COMMITTEE	NO. OF REPORTS
Salesbury and Copster Green Commons Management Committee	3	Peter Ainsworth Susan Bibby Stuart Hirst	Community Services	1
Carer's Link	1	Joyce Holgate	Health & Housing	1
Calderstones NHS Partnership	1	Bridget Hilton	Health & Housing	1
Environment Agency Liaison Committee	2	Richard Sherras Ian Sayers	Health & Housing	1
Hanson Cement Liaison Committee	5	Richard Sherras Ruth Hargreaves Ian Sayers Ian Brown Allan Knox	Health & Housing	2
Health & Wellbeing Board (LCC)	1	Bridget Hilton	Health & Housing	6
LCC Adult Social Care and Health Overview & Scrutiny Committee	1	Bridget Hilton	Health & Housing	1
NW Regional Older Peoples Champion Network	1	Susan Bibby	Health & Housing	1
Pendle Club, Clitheroe	2	Sue Hind Sue Knox	Health & Housing	1
Ribble Valley Homes	4	Peter Ainsworth Ged Mirfin Ian Brown	Health & Housing	1

ORGANISATION	NUMBER OF VACANCIES	NOMINATIONS	PARENT COMMITTEE	NO. OF REPORTS
Tarmac Liaison Committee	4	Paul Elms Ian Sayers Ian Brown Allan Knox	Health & Housing	2
NW Employer's Organisation	1 + 1 substitute	Rosemary Elms Doreen Taylor	Personnel	2
Forest of Bowland (Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty) Advisory Committee	1	Rosemary Elms	Planning & Development	1
SPARSE	1	Richard Sherras	Policy & Finance	1
Armed Forces Champion	1	Jim White	Policy & Finance	1
Clitheroe Royal Grammar School Foundation Trust	3	Stephen Atkinson Paula Dobson Ian Brown	Policy & Finance	1
Citizen's Advice Bureau	3	Ged Mirfin Lesley Graves Mary Robinson	Policy & Finance	1
Hyndburn and Ribble Valley Council for Voluntary Services	1	Richard Newmark	Policy & Finance	1
LGA Consultative Committee	2	Stuart Hirst Allan Knox	Policy & Finance	1
Police & Crime Panel	1	Terry Hill	Policy & Finance	2
Ribble Valley Community Safety Partnership	1	Robert Thompson	Policy & Finance	1

ORGANISATION	NUMBER OF VACANCIES	NOMINATIONS	PARENT COMMITTEE	NO. OF REPORTS
Ribble Valley Community Transport	1	lan Sayers	Policy & Finance	1
Whalley Educational Foundation Trust	1	Joyce Holgate	Policy & Finance	1