Minutes of Meeting of the Annual Council

Meeting Date: Tuesday, 10 May 2016 starting at 6pm

Present: B Hilton (Chairman)

Councillors:

P Ainsworth S Hind S A Hirst J E Alcock J Holgate R Bennett A M Knox S Bibby S Knox A Brown G Mirfin I Brown R Newmark S Brunskill M Robinson S Carefoot J Rogerson P Dobson I Sayers P Dowson G Scott P Elms R E Sherras R Elms D T Smith M Fenton M French R Swarbrick D Taylor L Graves R J Thompson R Hargreaves

T Hill N Walsh K Hind J White

In attendance: Chief Executive, Head of HR and Head of Legal and Democratic Services.

1 APOLOGIES

Apologies for absence from the meeting were submitted on behalf of Councillors S Atkinson, G Geldard, S Hore and the Director of Resources.

2 ELECTION OF MAYOR

The Mayor invited nominations for the Office of Mayor for the municipal year 2016/2017. Councillor R Sherras proposed and Councillor T Hill seconded the motion that Councillor Joyce Holgate be elected to the Office of Mayor for the municipal year 2016/2017.

RESOLVED: That Councillor Joyce Holgate be elected to the Office of Mayor for the municipal year 2016/2017.

Councillor B Hilton invested Councillor Joyce Holgate as Mayor with the ceremonial chain of office. Councillor B Hilton invested Miss Debra Holgate as Mayoress.

The Mayor (Councillor J Holgate) then took the chair and signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office. The Mayor (Councillor J Holgate) presented Councillor B Hilton and R Hilton with badges to commemorate their successful term of office as Mayor and Consort. She spoke in appreciation of the excellent service during their year of office. The Mayor (Councillor J Holgate) made a speech accepting the Office of Mayor.

3 ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR

The Mayor invited nominations for the Office of Deputy Mayor for the municipal year 2016/2017. Councillor S Hirst proposed and Councillor S Bibby seconded the motion that Councillor R Bennett be elected to the Office of Deputy Mayor for the municipal year 2016/2017.

RESOLVED: That Councillor R Bennett be elected to the Office of Deputy Mayor for the municipal year 2016/2017.

Councillor R Bennett was invested as Deputy Mayor by the Mayor with the ceremonial chain of office. Mrs Marilyn Davies was invested as Deputy Mayoress by the Mayor. The Deputy Mayor then made a short acceptance speech.

4 PRAYERS

The Mayor then called upon the Reverend Carmyllie, to ask God's blessing on the Council's deliberations in the coming year.

5 COMMITTEE ARRANGEMENTS 2016/2017

The Leader, Councillor S Hirst, proposed the recommendations outlined in the report regarding Committee arrangements for the municipal year 2016/2017 and related to the:

- number of Committees and their terms of reference;
- call in procedure;
- timetable of meetings;
- number of seats of each Committee:
- allocation of seats to Councillor Fenton;
- representation of Parish Councils' Liaison Committee:
- appointment of an Emergency Committee; and
- approval of the documents in the Council's Constitution.

The proposal was seconded by Councillor T Hill.

RESOLVED: That the Committee arrangements for 2016/2017 as set out in section 4 of the report of the Chief Executive be approved.

6 APPOINTMENT OF CHAIRMAN AND VICE CHAIRMAN 2016/2017

Councillor S Hirst proposed and Councillor T Hill seconded that the appointment of Chairman and Vice Chairman of the Committees of the Council for the municipal year 2016/2017 be as follows:

Committee	Chairman	Vice Chairman
Community Services	R Thompson	S Carefoot
Planning & Development	S Bibby	I Sayers
Health & Housing	S Hore	B Hilton
Personnel	R Elms	D Taylor
Policy & Finance	S Hirst	T Hill

Committee	Chairman	Vice Chairman	
Licensing	J Alcock	S Brunskill	
Accounts & Audit	K Hind	I Brown	

RESOLVED: That the Chairman and Vice Chairman be as set out in the list circulated at the meeting.

7 APPOINTMENT OF REPRESENTATIVES ON OUTSIDE BODIES 2016/2017

Councillor S Hirst proposed and Councillor T Hill seconded that the Representatives on Outside Bodies be as set out in the list circulated at the meeting.

RESOLVED: That the Representatives on Outside Bodies be as set out in the list circulated at the meeting – see Appendix 1 to these minutes.

The meeting closed at 6.35pm.

If you have any queries on these minutes please contact Marshal Scott (414400).

RIBBLE VALLEY BOROUGH COUNCIL ANNUAL COUNCIL MEETING

Agenda Item No.

meeting date: TUESDAY 10 MAY 2016

title: REPRESENTATIVES ON OUTSIDE BODIES 2016/2017

submitted by: principal author: CONSERVATIVE GROUP NOMINATIONS

ORGANISATION	NUMBER OF VACANCIES	NOMINATIONS	PARENT COMMITTEE	NO. OF REPORTS
Children's Trust	1	Stella Brunskill	Community Services	1
Lancashire Tourism Forum	1	Joyce Holgate	Community Services	1
Lancashire Waste Partnership	1	Ian Sayers	Community Services	1
Langho Football Club	1	Alison Brown	Community Services	1
Longridge Social Enterprise Company Limited	1	Ken Hind	Community Services	1
Ribble Valley Sport & Physical Activity Alliance (SPAA)	1	Jim White	Community Services	1
Ribble Valley Sports & Recreation (Roefield Leisure Centre)	2	Noel Walsh Robert Thompson	Community Services	1
Salesbury and Copster Green Commons Management Committee	3	Peter Ainsworth Susan Bibby Stuart Hirst	Community Services	1
Carer's Link	1	Joyce Holgate	Health & Housing	1
Calderstones Partnership	1	Bridget Hilton	Health & Housing	1

ORGANISATION	NUMBER OF VACANCIES	NOMINATIONS	PARENT COMMITTEE	NO. OF REPORTS
Environment Agency Liaison Committee	2	Richard Sherras Ian Sayers	Health & Housing	1
Hanson Cement Liaison Committee	5	Richard Sherras Ruth Hargreaves Ian Sayers Ian Brown Allan Knox	Health & Housing	2
Health & Wellbeing Board (LCC)	1	Bridget Hilton	Health & Housing	6
LCC Adult Social Care and Health Overview & Scrutiny Committee	1	Bridget Hilton	Health & Housing	1
NW Regional Older Peoples Champion Network	1	Susan Bibby	Health & Housing	1
Pendle Club Clitheroe	2	Sue Hind Ian Brown	Health & Housing	1
Ribble Valley Homes	3	Peter Ainsworth Ged Mirfin Ian Brown	Health & Housing	1
Tarmac Liaison Committee	4	Paul Elms Ian Sayers Ian Brown Allan Knox	Health & Housing	2
NW Employer's Organisation	1 + 1 substitute	Rosemary Elms Doreen Taylor	Personnel	2
Forest of Bowland (Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty) Advisory Committee	1	Rosemary Elms	Planning & Development	1
SPARSE	1	Richard Sherras	Planning & Development	1

ORGANISATION	NUMBER OF VACANCIES	NOMINATIONS	PARENT COMMITTEE	NO. OF REPORTS
Armed Forces Champion	1	Jim White	Policy & Finance	1
Clitheroe Royal Grammar School Foundation Trust	1	Stephen Atkinson	Policy & Finance	1
Citizen's Advice Bureau	3	Ged Mirfin Lesley Graves Mary Robinson	Policy & Finance	1
Hyndburn and Ribble Valley Council for Voluntary Services	1	Richard Newmark	Policy & Finance	1
LGA Consultative Committee	2	Stuart Hirst Allan Knox	Policy & Finance	1
Police & Crime Panel	2	Terry Hill Paul Elms	Policy & Finance	2
Ribble Valley Community Safety Partnership	1	Robert Thompson	Policy & Finance	1
Ribble Valley Community Transport	1	Ian Sayers	Policy & Finance	1
Whalley Educational Foundation Trust	1	Joyce Holgate	Policy & Finance	1