Minutes of Meeting of Special Council

Meeting Date: Tuesday, 12 July 2016, starting at 7.30pm

Present: Councillor J Holgate (Chairman)

Councillors:

B Hilton P Ainsworth K Hind J E Alcock S Hind S Atkinson S A Hirst R Bennett S Hore S Bibby A M Knox A Brown S Knox S Brunskill G Mirfin S Carefoot M Robinson P M Dobson I Sayers P Dowson G Scott P Elms R E Sherras R J Elms D T Smith M Fenton R Swarbrick M French D Taylor L Graves N C Walsh R Hargreaves J White T Hill

In attendance: Chief Executive, Director of Community Services, Director of Resources, Solicitor.

Councillor Geldard was not in attendance.

128 APOLOGIES

Apologies for absence from the meeting were submitted on behalf of Councillors I Brown, R Newmark, J Rogerson and R J Thompson.

129 HONORARY ALDERMEN

The Chief Executive explained to Members the history surrounding the appointment of Honorary Aldermen.

The Mayor informed Members that the Special Council meeting had been called to confer the title of Honorary Alderman on two past Members of the Council – Michael Ranson and Alan Yearing. She referred to their service for the Council.

The Leader of the Council moved a resolution to confer upon Michael Ranson the title of Honorary Alderman and referred to his 12 years' service on the Council; his service as Leader for 6 years and his Mayoral year of 2014/15. He also referred to his wealth of knowledge and the lessons learned under his leadership. The Deputy Leader seconded the resolution.

Councillor Alan Knox moved a resolution that the title of Honorary Alderman be conferred upon Alan Yearing and referred to his 20 years' service on the Council; him becoming Mayor at short notice in 2003/04; his membership of the Citizens' Advice Bureau and Pendle Club as well as his position as Deputy Leader of the Opposition. Councillor Mary Robinson seconded the nomination and referred to Alan's dedication and hard work on behalf of the community of Clitheroe.

RESOLVED: That

- 1. the title of Honorary Alderman be conferred upon Michael Ranson and a framed illuminated scroll be presented to him; and
- 2. the title of Honorary Alderman be conferred upon Alan Yearing and a framed illuminated scroll be presented to him.

The meeting closed at 8.00pm.

If you have any queries on these minutes please contact Marshal Scott (414400).