# Minutes of Meeting of the Annual Council

Meeting Date: Tuesday, 9 May 2017 starting at 6pm

Present: J Holgate (Chairman)

Councillors:

K Hind P Ainsworth S Hind J E Alcock S A Hirst S Atkinson J Holgate R Bennett A M Knox S Bibby S Knox A Brown G Mirfin S Brunskill R Newmark S Carefoot M Robinson P Dobson J Rogerson P Dowson I Savers P Elms G Scott R Elms R E Sherras M Fenton D T Smith M French R Swarbrick G Geldard D Taylor L Graves R J Thompson R Hargreaves N Walsh **B** Hilton

In attendance: Chief Executive, Head of HR and Head of Legal and Democratic Services.

# 1 APOLOGIES

Apologies for absence from the meeting were submitted on behalf of Councillors I Brown and T Hill.

# 2 ELECTION OF MAYOR

The Mayor invited nominations for the Office of Mayor for the municipal year 2017/2018. Councillor S Bibby proposed and Councillor S Hore seconded the motion that Councillor Richard Bennett be elected to the Office of Mayor for the municipal year 2017/2018.

RESOLVED: That Councillor Richard Bennett be elected to the Office of Mayor for the municipal year 2017/2018.

Councillor J Holgate invested Councillor Richard Bennett as Mayor with the ceremonial chain of office. Councillor J Holgate invested Marilyn Davies as Mayoress.

The Mayor (Councillor R Bennett) then took the chair and signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office. The Mayor (Councillor R Bennett) presented Councillor J Holgate and D Holgate with badges to commemorate their successful term of

office as Mayor and Consort. He spoke in appreciation of the excellent service during their year of office. The Mayor (Councillor R Bennett) made a speech accepting the Office of Mayor.

# 3 ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR

The Mayor invited nominations for the Office of Deputy Mayor for the municipal year 2017/2018. Councillor S Hirst proposed and Councillor D Smith seconded the motion that Councillor S Carefoot be elected to the Office of Deputy Mayor for the municipal year 2017/2018.

RESOLVED: That Councillor S Carefoot be elected to the Office of Deputy Mayor for the municipal year 2017/2018.

Councillor S Carefoot was invested as Deputy Mayor by the Mayor with the ceremonial chain of office. Sarah Rainford was invested as Deputy Mayoress by the Mayor. The Deputy Mayor then made a short acceptance speech.

#### 4 PRAYERS

The Mayor then called upon the Reverend R Fielding to ask God's blessing on the Council's deliberations in the coming year.

# 5 COMMITTEE ARRANGEMENTS 2017/2018

The Leader, Councillor K Hind, proposed the recommendations outlined in the report regarding Committee arrangements for the municipal year 2017/2018 and related to the:

- number of Committees and their terms of reference;
- call in procedure;
- timetable of meetings;
- number of seats of each Committee:
- allocation of seats to Councillor Fenton;
- representation of Parish Councils' Liaison Committee;
- appointment of an Emergency Committee; and
- approval of the updated documents in the Council's Constitution.

The proposal was seconded by Councillor P Elms.

RESOLVED: That the Committee arrangements for 2017/2018 as set out in section 4 of the report of the Chief Executive be approved.

# 6 APPOINTMENT OF CHAIRMAN AND VICE CHAIRMAN 2017/2018

Councillor K Hind proposed and Councillor P Elms seconded that the appointment of Chairman and Vice Chairman of the Committees of the Council for the municipal year 2017/2018 be as follows:

Committee	Chairman	Vice Chairman
Community Services	S Carefoot	S Hore
Planning & Development	A Brown	I Sayers
Health & Housing	B Hilton	S Brunskill
Personnel	S Atkinson	G Mirfin
Policy & Finance	K Hind	T Hill
Licensing	J Alcock	J Holgate
Accounts & Audit	S Hirst	I Brown
*Economic Development	R Swarbrick	J Rogerson

<sup>\*</sup> To be created

RESOLVED: That the Chairman and Vice Chairman be as set out in the list circulated at the meeting.

# 7 APPOINTMENT OF REPRESENTATIVES ON OUTSIDE BODIES 2017/2018

Councillor K Hind proposed and Councillor P Elms seconded that the Representatives on Outside Bodies be as set out in the list circulated at the meeting.

RESOLVED: That the Representatives on Outside Bodies be as set out in the list circulated at the meeting – see Appendix 1 to these minutes.

The meeting closed at 6.40pm.

If you have any queries on these minutes please contact Marshal Scott (414400).

# RIBBLE VALLEY BOROUGH COUNCIL ANNUAL COUNCIL MEETING

Agenda Item No.

meeting date: TUESDAY 9 MAY 2017

title: REPRESENTATIVES ON OUTSIDE BODIES 2017/2018

submitted by: principal author: CONSERVATIVE GROUP NOMINATIONS

ORGANISATION	NUMBER OF VACANCIES	NOMINATIONS	PARENT COMMITTEE	NO. OF REPORTS
Children's Trust	1	Stella Brunskill	Community Services	1
Lancashire Tourism Forum	1	Joyce Holgate	Community Services	1
Lancashire Waste Partnership	1	Ian Sayers	Community Services	1
Langho Football Club	1	Alison Brown	Community Services	1
Longridge Social Enterprise Company Limited	1	Ken Hind	Community Services	1
Ribble Valley Sports & Recreation (Roefield Leisure Centre)	2	Noel Walsh Stuart Hirst	Community Services	1
Salesbury and Copster Green Commons Management Committee	3	Peter Ainsworth Susan Bibby Stuart Hirst	Community Services	1
Carer's Link	1	Susan Bibby	Health & Housing	1
Calderstones Partnership	1	Bridget Hilton	Health & Housing	1
Environment Agency Liaison Committee	2	Richard Sherras Ian Sayers	Health & Housing	1

ORGANISATION	NUMBER OF VACANCIES	NOMINATIONS	PARENT COMMITTEE	NO. OF REPORTS
Hanson Cement Liaison Committee	5	Richard Sherras Ruth Hargreaves Ian Sayers Ian Brown Allan Knox	Health & Housing	2
Health & Wellbeing Board (LCC)	1	Bridget Hilton	Health & Housing	6
LCC Health Scrutiny Committee	1	Bridget Hilton	Health & Housing	1
NW Regional Older Peoples Champion Network	1	Susan Bibby	Health & Housing	1
Pendle Club Clitheroe	2	Sue Hind Ian Brown	Health & Housing	1
Ribble Valley Homes	3	Peter Ainsworth Ged Mirfin Ian Brown	Health & Housing	1
Tarmac Liaison Committee	4	Paul Elms Ian Sayers Ian Brown Allan Knox	Health & Housing	2
NW Employer's Organisation	1 + 1 substitute	Stephen Atkinson Ged Mirfin	Personnel	2
Forest of Bowland (Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty) Advisory Committee	1	Rosemary Elms	Planning & Development	1
Rural Services Network	1	Richard Sherras	Planning & Development	1
Armed Forces Champion	1	Jim White	Policy & Finance	1
Clitheroe Royal Grammar School Foundation Trust	1	Stephen Atkinson	Policy & Finance	1

ORGANISATION	NUMBER OF VACANCIES	NOMINATIONS	PARENT COMMITTEE	NO. OF REPORTS
Citizen's Advice Bureau	3	Sue Hind Graham Geldard Mary Robinson	Policy & Finance	1
Hyndburn and Ribble Valley Council for Voluntary Services	1	Richard Newmark	Policy & Finance	1
LGA General Assembly	2	Ken Hind Allan Knox	Policy & Finance	1
Police & Crime Panel	2	Terry Hill Paul Elms	Policy & Finance	2
Ribble Valley Community Safety Partnership	1	Robert Thompson	Policy & Finance	1
Ribble Valley Community Transport	1	Ian Sayers	Policy & Finance	1
Whalley Educational Foundation Trust	1	Joyce Holgate	Policy & Finance	1