Coronavirus (Covid-19)

Coronavirus cases are on the rise in Lancashire – get vaccinated, get tested and #LetsKeepLancashireSafe. Further information: Help and advice: Ribble Valley Community Hub (01200 414597)

Coronavirus Information

Candidates Line Up for Ribble Valley Elections

Published Friday, 05 April 2019

Ribble Valley goes to the polls in borough and parish elections on Thursday 2 May.

Ninety-four out of 96 candidates will be vying for 38 seats on Ribble Valley Borough Council.

The Conservatives and Labour have put forward the highest number of candidates, 40 and 35 respectively, while the Liberal Democrats are fielding 16, the Green Party two and UKIP one, along with two independents.

The two borough wards of Bowland and Chipping attracted just one candidate each, Conservatives Rosie Elms and Simon Hore respectively, who will therefore be automatically elected.

There will also be parish elections in Balderstone; Bolton-by-Bowland, Gisburn Forest and Sawley; Clayton-le-Dale, Mellor, Read, Salesbury; Slaidburn and Easington, as well as the Edisford and Low Moor; Littlemoor, Primrose, St Mary’s and Salthill wards of Clitheroe, and Derby in Longridge.

A full list of borough and parish candidates is available at Borough and Parish Elections 2019.

Check your poll card – some Ribble Valley wards have changed following a local government boundary review. Most of the changes are minor, such as a change in name, but several wards have been divided, some new wards created and the boundaries of others changed, meaning electors may be voting in a new ward and even at a new polling station, particularly in Clitheroe, East Whalley and Billington. Full details of the boundary changes including maps are available at Ribble Valley Ward Boundaries.


Share this page: