Residents needing additional support or wanting to volunteer their time or services to help those in need in their local community should call 01200 414597. For business rates please use 01200 414450

Coronavirus information

Two New Polling Stations for Ribble Valley

Published Wednesday, 15 April 2015

Voters in Littlemoor and Billington are advised of new polling stations for the Parliamentary, borough and parish elections on Thursday, May 7.

Voters in the Littlemoor ward of Clitheroe will vote in the ROSLA block at Ribblesdale High School, instead of the Garden Room at St James’s Church, while voters in Billington will vote at a mobile unit at Hodgefield, instead of Langho Community Hall.

Voters throughout Ribble Valley have recently received poll cards giving the location of their designated polling station. Stations will be open from 7am to 10pm and all registered electors will be able to cast their vote in person, unless they have registered to vote by post.

Once inside the polling station, voters are required to tell polling staff their name and address, so that their details can be checked against the electoral register. They will then be given a ballot paper for the Parliamentary election and where relevant separate ballot papers for the borough and parish elections. The ballot papers list the candidates standing for election and voters are asked to take the ballot paper to a polling booth and mark a cross (X) in the box to the right of the name of the candidate or candidates they want to vote for, fold the ballot paper in half and put it in the ballot box.

Voters are asked not to write anything else on their ballot paper, or their vote may not be counted. Anyone requiring assistance in completing their ballot paper can take a companion with them, or polling station staff will be happy to help.

The Parliamentary election has attracted eight candidates in Ribble Valley, while 76 candidates will be vying for 38 seats on Ribble Valley Borough Council. All seats on Ribble Valley Borough Council, apart from two in Waddington and West Bradford, are being contested. There will also be parish elections in Clitheroe, Longridge (Dilworth and Derby wards), Gisburn, the Sawley and Gisburn Forest wards of Bolton-by-Bowland and the Rimington ward of Rimington and Middop.

A full list of election candidates and the locations of polling stations is available in the Elections and Voting section.

Share this page: