Residents needing additional support or wanting to volunteer their time or services to help those in need in their local community should call 01200 414597. For business rates please use 01200 414450

Coronavirus information

Week Remaining to Comment on New Ward Boundaries

Published Monday, 12 June 2017

Residents in Ribble Valley have a week remaining in which to make their views known on proposed changes to the borough’s ward boundaries.

The independent Local Government Boundary Commission for England has been asking local people to comment on its draft plans for new council ward boundaries.

An extensive consultation on the recommendations giving residents the chance to comment on new council wards, ward boundaries and ward names in the borough finishes next week.

The commission is proposing that Ribble Valley should have 40 councillors, the same as present, but divided across 14 two-councillor wards and 12 one-councillor wards.

Local Government Boundary Commission chairman Professor Colin Mellors said: “We have published proposals for a new pattern of wards across Ribble Valley and are keen to hear what local people think of the recommendations.

“We are asking local people to tell us if they agree with the proposals or if not how they can be improved. 

“Our review aims to deliver electoral equality for local voters meaning each councillor will represent a similar number of people, so that everyone’s vote in council elections is worth roughly the same, regardless of where they live.

“We also want to ensure that our proposals reflect the interests and identities of local communities across Ribble Valley and that the pattern of wards will help the borough council deliver effective local government to local people.

“We will consider all the submissions we receive whoever they are from and whether the evidence applies to the whole borough, or just part of it.”

The full recommendations and detailed interactive maps are available on the commission’s website at A summary of the recommendations and maps are also available at the Ribble Valley Borough Council Offices in Church Walk, Clitheroe.

Submissions should be made by Monday, 19 June, to The Review Officer (Ribble Valley), Local Government Boundary Commission for England, 14th Floor, Millbank Tower, London SW1P 4QP, or

The commission will consider all submissions and publish its final recommendations in September 2017.

Share this page: